Radio Free Bard

SAP: Standard Author Profile.

Posted in Writing by radiofreebard on November 19, 2008

I’ve spent most of today looking up at storm clouds and wondering about what today’s post would be about. I’ve had a few ideas yet all of them seemed contrived and of limited value. The idea I’ve settle with is not one that falls outside either of those categories, but is one that has consistently tapped me on the shoulder and demanded I write.

Questions of a standard nature.

A CV is something that most people, including authors, have. It is a standardised way of displaying one’s usefulness to prospective employers. What I’m proposing is somewhat different and would exist more as a standardised mental excercise and less of a burden of red-tape. My mind has been playing with itself all day imagining a list of questions that would apply to all types of author that would not only give people an idea about whether or not an author matches their reading habits but would also force an author to put serious thought into where they stand in the grand scheme of things.

I’m open to input on this but I project that the appropriate goals of such a profile would be to:

  • Inform readers
  • Guide writers

I’m usually against applying any kind of taxonomy to the arts, but the niggling sensation in my mind will not abate. It whispers to me that input from fellow writers would be desirable.

I ask two questions:

  1. Is a Standard Author Profile a good idea or a bad idea?
  2. What information would it contain?

Even if your response to the first question is that an SAP is a bad idea, I’d still like to know what you believe would be useful information for it to contain.

Proposed SAP, a work in progress.

Name:
Pen-name(s):
Gender:

Primary style(s):
Secondary style(s):

Primary Genre(s):
Secondary Genre(s):

Dominant Mood(s):
Dominant Theme(s):

Primary Preferred Audience:
Other Preferred Audience(s):

Stylistic Influence(s):

Content Influence(s):

Note: I will be updating the SAP as people comment.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thepomegranateblog said, on November 20, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Don’t have anything to add Kaiser but I think you’re on to something here! Sounds great…


Leave a Reply

